Address: P. O. Box 1166, Bettendorf, IA 52722
Sign Up for our eNewsletter

Supporting STEM professionals, societies, educators, parents and students

Annual Trebuchet Egg Throw Competition

Results – 2016 Annual Trebuchet Egg Throw Competition

The 8th Annual Trebuchet Egg Throw Contest was held on Friday, April 22, 2016 at Bettendorf High School.  25 teams from 5 area high schools competed with 101 students.  The competition is part of the QC High School Tech Challenge

News Coverage from 2016 Event:


Event Overview:  Teams design & build trebuchets to launch raw eggs at targets at three, specified distances 75, 100, and 125 feet. Each team will get four shots at each distance with the two best shots counted for scoring. This field competition will count for 60 of the total 100 possible points.

In addition to the trebuchet, a presentation worth up to 40 points is given by each team to local engineers from the QCESC. 

An optional stand-alone contest and team prize will be given for the trebuchet that launches an egg the longest distance with additional two eggs and launches allowed per team. 

Link to 329 Event Pictures thanks to Tom Stewart

2016 Awards:

1st Place: 
Hit the Yolks, Bettendorf High School
(76 total points)
Cole Teshak, Evan Nietzel, Cole Grothusen
2nd Place:
Bob the Trebuchet Builders, Bettendorf High School (73 total points)
Anthony Pozzi, Justin Lemasters, Hunter Miller, Jakob Wethington
3rd Place:
Ultimate Breakfast, Pleasant Valley High School
(67 points)
Ryan Thompson, Tanner Bortolazzo, Cole Edwards
Longest Throw:
Insert the Name Here, Bettendorf High School
(210.0 Feet)
Jacob Wehr, Scott Summers, Jackson Callahan
Most Innovative Design:
Arm Day, Pleasant Valley High School
Luke Leathers, Landon Slagle, Scott Henrichs

Special thanks to:

  • Bettendorf High School for hosting the event
  • Hy-Vee who kindly donated 30 dozen eggs and water for the volunteers
  • The great group of volunteers listed below:
Name Organization
Pat Barnes John Deere & QCESC
Mike Christensen Bettendorf High School
Denise Harmsen John Deere
Mitch Harvey  
Tom Hein QCESC & John Deere (Retired)
Grant Housman Pleasant Valley High School
Carl Loweth QCESC & John Deere (Retired)
Thomas Seaberg John Deere
Tom Stewart John Deere
 Bill Sweeney Alcoa

Complete Team Results:

High School Team Name Judging
(40 Pts. Max)
(60 Pts. Max)
Student Team Members Award  
Bettendorf Hit the Yolks 36 40 76 1 190 Cole Teshak Evan Nietzel Cole Grothusen       1st Place  
Bettendorf Bob the Trebuchet Builders 37 36 73 2 156.25 Anthony Pozzi Justin Lemasters Hunter Miller  Jakob Wethington     2nd Place  
Pleasant Valley Ultimate Breakfast 35 32 67 3 102 Ryan Thompson Tanner Bortolazzo Cole Edwards       3rd Place  
Bettendorf Insert Name Here 38 24 62 4 210 Jacob Wehr Scott Summers Jackson Callahan       Longest Throw  
Pleasant Valley PHATS 37 24 61 5 137.5 Michael Brees Russell Berkley Alex Corneilus          
Pleasant Valley Arm Day 36 24 60 6 98 Luke Leathers Landon Slagle Scott Henrichs       Most Innovative Design  
Pleasant Valley PGE 38 22 60 6 60 McClain Acri Zach Corrigan Eric Dilley          
Pleasant Valley Juicy Bananas 38 15 53 7 150 Austin Collins Max Cremer Karson Sommer          
Pleasant Valley Zues 35 15 50 8 75 Owen Ward Brandon Letney Hadden Henderson          
Durant Eggsquisite 32 17 49 9 122 Sarah Schemmel Maddy Howe Denver Feuerbach  Jeremy Abels  Ryan Digney Danielle Schlapkohl     
Bettendorf Space Raiders 35 12 47 10 0 Jonathan Toppert Trevor Grantham Moriah Kennedy          
Durant We Got Yolks 32 12 44 11 83 Miranda Cox Janey Botkins Noah Cawiezell  Luke Whitlock  Will Bentley       
Moline Trebutrying 39 0 39 12 101 Hannah O’Donnell Hannah Hutton Kiya Ritchie  Fiona Roehrs        
Moline Grade A 34 4 38 13 0 Kaity Miner Megan Meyer Katie Christensen  Olivia Pauley  Isabel Zimmerman      
Durant Eggstraterrestrials 37 0 37 14 0 Sam Fusco Emily Merschman Marisa Paulsen  Emily Mundt  Summer Slininger      
Moline Don’t yolk with us 37 0 37 14 0 Siddhi Kapur Elizabeth McDermott Kennedy Cook  Lily Glackin        
Moline L’egg Day 36   36 15   Nathan Ray Seth Schwanke Logan Scranton          
Moline Leggsa 36 0 36 15 73 Nessrine Zbeeb Savannah Hampton Addison Sanders  Riya Jain        
Pleasant Valley Uncle Grandpa 36 0 36 15 0 Ryan Morrissey Jasper Howard Harry Lawrence          
Moline Flossin Tossin Egg Throwers 32 3 35 15 NP Alec Quick Ashley Barker Saneha Borisuth  Harrison Allers        
Prince of Peace Catholic School Soaring Spuds 35 0 35 15 95 Caitlyn Jacobs Rebecca DiVarco Miranda Schnier  Emma Kitteringham  Alyssa Hovey Sydney Kaup Amberly Eshelman Makenzi Sparks    
Moline North Korean Missile Program 34 0 34 16 0 Avery Fowler Alexis Wolfe Brandon Schell  Joshua Powell        
Moline Whisket for the Biscuit 34 0 34 16 45 Hunter Henning William Van Vooren Truman Van Vooren  Shiv Puri  Nick Drobo      
Pleasant Valley Steve 34 0 34 16 0 Kyle Schick Eric Jackson Jon Kaufman          
Prince of Peace Catholic School Flying Irish 27 0 27 17 0 Dyllan Sparks Alex Hessing Alex Foster  Tony Nguyen  Kiwi Lin Eddie Goodell Jerry Gao    


Event All Time Records:

  • Longest Throw of 286.5′ in 2014 by Four Kings (AAT) from Pleasant Valley High School (Abhi Gurram, Tyler Oberman, and Arvin Sundaramraj) – Previous record 275.5′ set by Falmer Mode in 2013 from Bettendorf High School (Luke Manwiller & Mitch Parker)
  • Total Number of Students Participating.  107 in 2014.  

Link to Pictures & Results Previous Trebuchet Egg Throw Contests:

  • 2015 Results & Pictures
  • 2014 Results & Pictures
  • 2013 Results & Pictures
  • 2012 Results and Pictures
  • 2011 Results and Pictures
  • 2010 Results and Pictures
  • 2009 Pictures

For further information or questions, please contact contact Carl Loweth, QCESC STEM Coordinator at or via phone at 563-505-1196.

Please forward your comments regarding this page to:

Last updated January 01, 2017 11:28 AM