Address: P. O. Box 1166, Bettendorf, IA 52722
Sign Up for our eNewsletter

Supporting STEM professionals, societies, educators, parents and students

2019 Awards Nominations are no longer being accepted

Please join us at our Annual Banquet on Feb. 21st, 2019 5:00 – 8:45 PM to be held at Deere & Company Worldwide Headquarters in Moline, IL. We will announce the winners of these awards during the Banquet program:

  • Junior Engineer of the Year (< 36 years old on 12/31/18)
  • Junior Scientist of the Year  (< 36 years old on 12/31/18)
  • Senior Engineer of the Year (36 Years or older on 12/31/18)
  • Senior Scientist of the Year (36 Years or older on 12/31/18)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • STEM Teacher of the Year

Register for our 2019 Banquet here.

Application for 2019 Awards are no longer being accepted.

Due Date: All applications must be submitted on-line by February 7th, 2019.

For further information about the QCESC Awards, please e-mail Dan D’Alessandro.

Guidelines and rules are outlined in this document: Awards Rules and Guidelines 2019

2018 Award Recipients

Left to Right: Jeffrey Richland, Arconic – Director, QCESC; Dan D’Alessandro – Awards Chair, QCESC; Chris Lewis – John Deere – NSBE-QC; Kenya Carrington, Exelon – NSBE-QC; Sudan Abdur-Rahman, Rock Island Arsenal – NSBE-QC; Scott Clark, John Deere – Jr. Engineer of the Year; Sanchia Horst-Sommer, East Moline School District – STEM Teacher of the Year; Thomas Heinold, US Army Corp of Engineers – Senior Engineer of the Year; Ray Parrish – Volunteer of the Year; Mark Henthorn, Stanley Consultants – Lifetime Achievement; Camille Sloan Schroeder, Iowa State – President’s Award; Megan Dusing, Stanley Consultants – Senior Scientist of the Year; Pat Barnes, John Deere – Director Emeritus, QCESC; Chris Cournoyer – President, QCESC.

Note: The Junior Scientist of the Year was not awarded in 2018.

The awards were first established in 1966 initially with the Engineer of the Year award. Since then, additional awards have been added including for:

  • 1995 – Scientist of the Year

  • 2000 – Society of the Year

  • 2007 – Lifetime Achievement

  • 2010 – STEM Teacher of the Year

  • 2013 – STEM Volunteer of the Year

Past Award Recipients Listed by Year (1966 – 2017)