Address: P. O. Box 1166, Bettendorf, IA 52722
Sign Up for our eNewsletter

Supporting STEM professionals, societies, educators, parents and students

Awards Nominations

The Awards Nomination process is now closed. Thank you to all who submitted nominations for outstanding STEM professionals.  Awards will be announced at the QCESC Annual STEM Celebration the evening of February 20, 2020 (during Engineers’ Week).

Register to attend the event here.



The QCESC Awards pay tribute and recognize Engineering and Science Professionals whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on technology, society, and their profession. This includes helping to promote and raise the awareness of STEM (Engineering, Science, Technology, and Mathematics) education and careers in our local communities including in our schools.

Awards will be announced at the QCESC Annual STEM Celebration the evening of February 20, 2020 at the Putnam Museum and Science Center in Davenport.

Nominations submitted in a given year are active for two additional years (except if a Junior Engineer or Junior Scientist exceeds the age limit during this period).

Rules and Guidelines for Nominations and Awards are here.

Nominations for the 2020 QCESC Awards are now being accepted for the following award categories:

  • Junior Engineer of the Year (< 36 years old on 12/31/19)
  • Junior Scientist of the Year  (< 36 years old on 12/31/19)
  • Senior Engineer of the Year (36 Years or older on 12/31/19)
  • Senior Scientist of the Year (36 Years or older on 12/31/19)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • STEM Teacher of the Year

Applications for these Awards are ONLINE! 

Due Date: All applications must be submitted on-line by January 27, 2020.

Example Submission in Word Format |  Example Submission in PDF Format

Join us at the QCESC STEM Celebration by registering here:

For further information about the QCESC Awards or if you experience any technical problems with your submission, please e-mail Dan D’Alessandro.

2019 Award Recipients

Left to Right: Dan D’Alessandro – President & Awards Chair, QCESC; Eddie Mercado – STEM Teacher of the Year; Anthony Heddlesten –  Jr. Engineer of the Year; Beth Ullmark – Volunteer of the Year and Secretary, QCESC; Susan Brooks – Jr. Scientist of the Year; Neil West – Lifetime Achievement; Nathan Frank – Sr. Scientist of the Year; Becky Svatos – Sr. Engineer of the Year; Pat Barnes, John Deere – Director Emeritus, QCESC.

The awards were first established in 1966 initially with the Engineer of the Year award. Since then, additional awards have been added including for:

  • 1995 – Scientist of the Year

  • 2000 – Society of the Year

  • 2007 – Lifetime Achievement

  • 2010 – STEM Teacher of the Year

  • 2013 – STEM Volunteer of the Year

Past Award Recipients Listed by Year (1966 – 2019)